When you exceed your account allocation of messages, connections, channels etc. we will rarely simply disable or degrade your Ably realtime service, unless you exceed your limits significantly.  Instead, we will typically send you a notification when nearing your pre-paid quota and when you exceed your pre-paid quota, so that you have time to review your options. 


Find out more about the hard limits configured for different account types.


Depending on the type of subscription package you have with Ably, we will do the following:


Free account

If you're using Ably with one of our free packages, and you exceed your connection or message limit, we will do the following:

  1. You will receive an email notification when you are nearing one of your limits
  2. Any messages, connections or channels that exceed your quota will be automatically be rejected by the platform
  3. When you exceed any of your limits, we will get in touch to discuss upgrading to a paid account or reducing your usage

Paid accounts (Self-service or Business)

If you have a paid subscription to Ably, and you exceed your connection, channel or message limit, we will do the following:

  1. You will receive an email notification when you are nearing one of your limits
  2. When you exceed any of your limits, we will get in touch to remind you that you will start incurring charges for any message, connection and channel overages.  See "Overage pricing" below. When you exceed your limits, we highly recommend that you consider upgrading your account as it is more cost effective to pay for connections and messages as part of your subscription package


Enterprise accounts

 

If you have a bespoke Enterprise contract with Ably, and you exceed your connection or message limit, we will do the following:

  1. You will receive an email notification when you are nearing one of your limits
  2. Depending on your Enterprise package, you may not be charged for any overages, but your customer success manager will be in touch to review your account if you are consistently using more resources than what you are paying for


PaaS partner paid account

If you have a paid subscription through one of our partners (such as Heroku), and you exceed your connection or message limit, we will do the following:

  1. You will receive an email notification when you are nearing one of your limits
  2. Any messages, connections or channels that exceed your quota will be automatically be rejected by the platform
  3. When you reach any of your limits, we will get in touch to discuss upgrading your account or reducing your usage


Overage pricing

If you exceed your paid subscription quota, we charge for any overages (excluding local taxes) at a standard rate of:


If you have explicitly negotiated different overage pricing as part of your Enterprise package, then you can review your pricing on your "Billing and Upgrades" page.  To view the "Billing and Upgrades", login, then drop down your account login and select "Billing and Upgrades"